View Calendar

Rotary International Awards


Rotary International and The Rotary Foundation select a few outstanding Rotarians each year to receive special recognition. We are pleased that Rotary has honored many of our members. Individuals cannot apply for these awards but must be nominated by Rotary International Leadership.


Awards with Past Recipients:

Service Above Self Award 
Rotary's highest award for a Rotarian. A maximum of 150 Rotarians of 1.2 million Rotarians worldwide are honored each year
2013 James R Lang, Rotary Club of Trumbull
2011 Ernestine T. Luise, Rotary Club of Derby/Shelton
2010 Dr. Iona N. Black, Rotary Club of New Haven
2009 John Powers, Rotary Club of Wallingford
2009 Richard C. Benson, Rotary Club of Madison
2008 Dr. Paul Spiekermann, Rotary Club of Westport
2007 Cathy Forsberg, Rotary Club of Hamden
2006 Lynda Hammond, Rotary Club of Hamden
2003 Harvey Sellner, Rotary Club of Newtown
2003 Abraham I. Gordon, Rotary Club of Bridgeport
1999 Owen Sandersen, Rotary Club of Hamden
1995 Jeremiah Lowney, Jr., Rotary Club of Norwich 


Rotary International President Golden Century
Medal & Citation
This award is presented by the Presient of Rotary International to an individual who has demonstated outstanding leadership abilities and commitment.
1997 Abraham I. Gordon, PRIVP 1998-2000
1996 Abraham I. Gordon, PRIVP 1998-2000



Rotary Foundation Distinguished Service Award
The  highest award presented to a Rotarian by The Rotary Foundation. Most districts do not have any recipients. District 7980 has eight!
Recipient must have previously received the Citation of Meritorious Service
Year Name, Club
2015 Ernestine Luise, Derby-Shelton
2010 James R. Lang, Trumbull
2008 Dr. Jeremiah Lowney, Jr., Norwich
2007 Edward T. Osterman, Newtown
2006 Henry F. Scopp, Sr., Devon
1999 John M. "Mac" Leask, II, Fairfield
1995 Abraham I. Gordon, Bridgeport

Rotary Foundation Citation for Meritorious Setvice 
Recognizes outstanding Rotarians for their Service to The Rotary Foundation.
Year Name, Club
2013 Colin Gershon, New Haven
2009 Ernestine Luise, Derby-Shelton
2008 Alan R. Hurst, East Hampton
2006 Pamela Akins, New London
2005 James R. Lang, Trumbull
2002 Edward Osterman, Newtown
1998 Gerald Scarano, Groton-Ledyard
1997 Harold Greenbaum, Milford
1996 Henry F. Scopp, Sr., Devon
1995 Rollin Mettler, New Haven
1994 Jeremiah Lowney, Jr., Norwich
1993 John M. "Mac" Leask, II, Fairfield
1992 Abraham I. Gordon, Bridgeport
1991 Morton Briggs, Middletown
RIfacebook link RI twitter link RI YouTube link Linkedin link